Pages: << Back 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next >>

When White was named special assistant to the vice president for academic affairs in 1985, Anthony Catanese of the economics and business department became faculty development coordinator. Marion K. McInnes succeeded Rosenhaus as director of convocations in 1985 and the next year was given the additional task of coordinating the celebration of the university's sesquicentennial. Ray H. French, as university curator, made a detailed inventory of the institution's extensive art collection before his retirement in 1984. His successor was Mary La Lone of the sociology and anthropology department.

In 1978 Robert G. Bottoms was appointed to the position of vice president for university relations, a title changed to vice president for external relations in 1980 and executive vice president in 1983. His chief responsibilities lay in the planning and implementation of the university's development and fund-raising programs. In a reorganization of this department Frederick Sanders was named director of planned giving, James N. Kleinschmidt director of development and alumni relations. Theodore Katula became associate director of alumni relations in addition to his post as director of student activities, formerly known as director of the Memorial Student Onion Building.

Other appointments in development and alumni affairs over the next few years included John McConnell, John D. Fetters, Debra L. Haerr, Bruce E. Ploshay, Linda M. Katula, Marsha J. Brown, and Ann Daly. In the expanded office of public relations under the direction of Patrick Aikman were Gregory Rice, director of publications and later university editor; Dian D. Phillips, who succeeded Rice as director of publications in 1985; Judith C. Magyar, director of summer conferences; and John McGauley, director of news services.



David C. Murray became director of admissions in 1978, later adding the title of assistant provost and finally assistant vice president. Assisting him in that important office have been William D. Berg, longtime staffer Richard E. Lyons as associate director of admissions, Elizabeth A. Napoli, Polly A. Coddington, Veda R. Robinson, and a series of young admissions counselors, mostly recent DePauw graduates. Kenneth R. Ashworth succeeded Charles W. Bruce as director of financial aid in 1982. Registrar Eleanor Ypma added the title of assistant provost and director of graduate studies.

In its new location in a remodeled residence on South Locust Street, the student affairs office underwent considerable reorganization. In 1979 Joan M. Claar became the new dean of students after Associate Dean Patricia E. Domeier had served as acting dean the previous year. John R. Mohr continued as an associate dean of students and director of placement from 1977 to 1982. His successor, Robert G,. O'Neal, was replaced the next year by Thomas R. Cath, who took the title of director of career planning and placement. This office also relocated to more spacious quarters in the Student Union Building, where it is much frequented by job-conscious students. Rebecca S. Lamb was named assistant director of career planning and placement in 1985.

Other members of the student affairs staff in this period have been husband-and-wife team Carol A. Arner and Thomas D. Arner, presently associate dean and assistant dean of students, respectively, Vic Boschini, Janice Simmons, and James W. Schlegel. Supervising the work of the student dormitory counselors are three residence life directors, formerly called head resident advisers.

In 1978 the office of comptroller was changed to vice president for finance, a position filled first by Lawrence Elam and after 1981 by Fred S. Silander. Richard Conrad was manager of the DePauw Book Store from 1978 to 1986, when he took over the same position in the Book Store Annex. Successive directors of the physical plant during this period have been Robert D. Gaston, Bruce V. Collins, and James Daugherty. In 1984 John Henry was named to the new post of director of personnel, later adding the title of assistant vice president for support services.

President Rosser initiated a major change in departmental governance, replacing a time-honored system of near-permanent, seniority-determined department heads with chairmen appointed for a three-year term. In its place he established a system where reappointment was subject to departmental evaluation and recommendation by the committee on faculty. This system, which had been foreshadowed by rotating headships in the history and chemistry departments earlier, brought about many shifts in departmental leadership and widened participation in faculty decision-making. The administration also placed strong emphasis on periodic evaluation of faculty members, both by peers and by students. It also attempted to establish a program of merit raises in recognition of superior teaching and professional attainments that was never fully implemented.

Some departments acquired new titles to reflect more closely the nature of their course offerings. Physical education was broadened to health, physical education, and recreation. Economics and business became economics and management. Earth sciences reverted to its former title of geology and geography, and astronomy was shifted from mathematics to the physics department by mutual agreement. In a return to an older terminology at DePauw, zoology merged with botany and bacteriology to form the department of biological sciences. Two casualties of changing student interests and budgetary restraints were the programs in African Studies and Black Studies, both of which were phased out early in the Rosser administration.

The Rosser presidency was a time of rethinking the university's goals and restructuring the curriculum to re-affirm the liberal arts ideal. In 1979 the faculty adopted a new statement of purpose and aims, the first such in nearly six decades. While continuing to stress intellectual inquiry, clear thinking, and effective expression, the statement also made reference to students' lifestyles, emotional needs, and career choices. Its philosophy was summed up in the reaffirmation of a commitment to "academic excellence, growth in personal and social awareness, and preparation for leadership."

After prolonged committee consideration and faculty debate, a new set of graduation requirements was put into effect for the College of Liberal Arts. It involved a division of the distribution requirements into six newly defined groups: 1) natural sciences and mathematics; 2) social and behavioral sciences; 3) literature and the arts; 4) historical and philosophical understanding; 5) foreign languages; and 6) self-expression. Students were to choose two courses from each of the first five groups and one and a half courses from the sixth, which included physical education, applied music, studio art, and certain extracurricular activities. In a compromise, the original proposal was amended to permit students to omit any two courses from the six groups. The School of Nursing adopted a slightly modified version of these graduation requirements.

Back to Top

Pages: << Back 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next >>

Depauw University e-history | E-mail comments to: